“Plot Veers Off the Road as Violence Increases”

taintedcure

Tainted Cure: The Rememdium Series, Book 1

The initial chapters of Tainted Cure were very compelling, especially the search for a cure for addiction. I would have enjoyed this concept as a straightforward narrative, covering the secret treatment facility and then the patients’ return to fresh new lives. Unfortunately, as the overlapping plot line involving the machinations of a druglord and his minions became more prominent, I found the narrative somewhat confusing, and just as I was beginning to care what happened to various individuals, they were sacrificed to the plot.

The concept of a viral mechanism to create “living dead” who consume human flesh while passing on their contagion is a fairly common sf/fantasy/horror trope. This variation was too gruesome for me–definitely more horror than sf–and while I still hope that the strong female police chief and her daughter, a former meth addict, will triumph, the narrative kept repelling me with repeated bloody incidents (and crunching sounds)–just right for readers who like their horror black, but too strong for me!

In the final chapters, as martial law is declared and everyone from the President to small-town bullies becomes contagious, the scientist who dedicated his life to the search for the cure to addiction finally returns to the stage, but at this point I felt so hopelessly confused by the shifting viewpoints that I didn’t know who to root for, and in fact lost track of the suspense as I felt so overloaded by the violence wrought by the tainted cure. I am sure there is an audience for this series, but I am one of those people with enough nightmares of my own that I can’t honestly enjoy nightmarish entertainment.

“This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of AudiobookBoom dot com.”

Leave a Reply

