“Keep These Four Loaded on Your Phone”

Overall  ♥♥♥♥   Performance ♥♥♥♥   Story  ♥♥♥♥


Ray Jay Perreault has created a winner with his new Science Fiction Anthology: Volume 1. All four stories are imaginative and original with a kicker and a twist, in the tradition of Asimov’s and Analog.

I leave the Anthology loaded on my phone for those in-between moments when I don’t want a novel, and every time I listen I hear something new that makes the stories richer. My favorite is the fourth story, “Good Morning,” with its “gotcha” ending! Completely unexpected–and I think everyone can identify with the isolated worker, unsure of the line between discrimination and paranoia, and too exhausted by his situation to get any real perspective on why he is being so thoroughly abused. It’s much more than a parody of office life in a corrupt corporation.

Narrator Christopher M. Allport succeeds in making multiple voices realistic, including the non-human ones! Enjoy.

“I received a free copy of this audiobook for an honest review.”

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s